I’ve gotten some complaints from non-Somerville residents since my last blog post.  They think they’re just as hip as the balloon-twisters and kickball league leaders in Somerville and they’re pretty annoyed that they weren’t even evaluated in my definitive study on hipness.

I don’t need that kind of negativity crowding my inbox.  So, without further ado, here are some other cities whose residents consider themselves hip.

(No, I’m not going to be the one to tell them complaining about my little blog-post is decidedly un-hip.)

  • Harrisburg.  An unexpected contender.  But still, it is home to the PA farm show which includes both a butter sculpture and a “sheep to shawl” contest.  I’m into that.
  • Tucson.  Outrageous sunsets.  Javelinas, saguaros.  Light pollution bans.  This city is a haiku.  Pretty excellent.
  • Atlanta.  ATL.  The Dirty Dirty.  Hotlanta.  The Big Peach.  If you measure a city’s hipness by nickname quantity, Atlanta probably wins.
  • Chicago.  I can’t think of anything hip to point out about Chicago.  Sorry.  But a lot of you seem to like it.
  • Burlington.  Is Phish still on the hip list?  Um, sure.  I guess.
  • Fresno.  There’s the Tower district.  And I happen to know that some pretty awesome sculptors, architects and peace activists live there.
  • New Orleans.  You’ve got the music and food and overcoming adversity and all of that.  Then again, maybe New Orleans is too beloved and cool to be truly hip.
  • St. Louis.  They’ve got that arch. That’s something, isn’t it?

If I’ve left out your city, please don’t whine about it.  I get enough of that from my kids.  Just post a comment.

